top of page
RSS Feed

What's in a Local?


Initially I meant somewhere to drink regularly, to meet friends. However recently not only has my life been scattered across two parts of London – Clapham – where my home is, and Fulham where the BF lives. So Finding my Local part 1 is STILL a work in progress and may continue to be. However in my search for a local, I decided, ultimately, it was more important that I found my perfect brunch venue.

Part 1 is what I expected the challenge to be. I accepted readily having watched too many television shows growing up, believing that I would only really have made it as a successful Did you ever notice how everyone (and I am not talking about the generic soaps) seemed to have a local. Now I understand why it was essentially that the Friends crew met in Central Perk, or how evening in Coupling there was a local wine bar. It allowed for people to meet in situations that appeared less contrived but ultimately are.

Maybe my friends are different, but I don’t know of anyone that has such a ‘regular’ that you know you are likely to find them there. I think it is also unrealistic –London just isn’t like that. – there are so many places to try and new, squish looking establishments opening regularly - why would you stick to one place.

The closest thing I have had to a local so far are my favourite places to drink after work in the City… I still love ‘The Anthologist’ on Gresham street even if it is terribly cliché, and in Canary Wharf, despite having worked there for almost 5 years, I don’t have a preferred venue when someone suggests let’s go for a drink. Indeed, recently asked that question, my first response was to try out a new bar, on this occasion, the temporary popup bar that goes hand in hand with the temporary ice rink. Finding decent places to drink that have the necessary atmosphere is quite hard…

I have found a semi-local in Fulham. I’ve been there 5 times in 3 months and met people there twice. So as far as locals go, The Malt House, not far from Fulham Broadway tube station is the winner. Why – well it is perfect for any occasion, with a shabby chic feel, large dining area, decent sized beer garden (with heaters) and the odd nice sofa for cuddling up on. The food is not bad either, and they have activity sheets and coloring crayons for kids. Albeit best to brush up on your 1066 history (the anagrams are tough)!

Having invested so much time in finding a local, it is sad that I am set to move in few months, hence the challenge continues …

Part 2

Early on in my 52 challenges journey, it became clear to me that finding a local pub wasn’t nearly as important to me as finding a local brunch place for Sunday mornings. In earnest, I made the BF try every restaurant on Abbeville Road SW4, to find my favourite. I’ve ended up with 2:

  • For the traditional English breakfast, I like Bistro Union on Abbeville Road. It’s a little minimalistic (despite rarely eating bread – I am grateful for the toast) but unbeatable quality of sausages, bacon and you don’t feel overly stuffed for eating it. It is a bit of a treat though, as I think it is one of the more expensive brunches in Clapham (breakfast definitely over a tenner).

  • My second favorite place is Gail’s bakery, also on Abbeville Road. This is definitely my first choice on a ‘diet day’ particularly if the night before has resulted in a takeaway supper I love the atmosphere. There is a bustling, urban air about the place, not least because the bakery acts as a shop as well, which means you can even get a yummy croissant and coffee to takeaway.

In fact writing this (on a damp Sunday morning) has made me want to go and get some yummy, bakery goodness… so bye for now!


bottom of page