top of page
RSS Feed

WHEN GEMMA MET BORIS...


Okay, when I was compiling my list of things to do meeting Boris Johnson was supposed to be my most unobtainable (although perhaps realistically that is learning French). It was meant to be a motivation to get out on the streets of London and do something worthy of meeting Boris. However not long after setting my list I received a phone call from my mum saying there was a dinner in Chester with Boris and did I want tickets. The answer was obvious...


Why Boris? Well I'd been a fan since seeing him present 'Have I Got News for You,' where he made a flippant comment about 'give that man a coconut' and then fulfilled the statement (no doubt thanks to a speedy runner at the BBC) by the end of the programme. And I followed some of the more comic events of his political career with great amusement - whether it be his 'wiff waff' comment in Beijing, getting stuck on a zip wire in a London park, or even the episode of 'Who do you think you are?' where he jests he wants to reclaim the German palace of his ancestors. The point is, before I continue with my story, I'm a big fan of his personality and so the idea of meeting him was something I'd been looking forward to for weeks.


I'd been looking forward to it so much that as we arrived I felt trepidation - what if I didn't meet him, what if he wasn't as funny off screen. I grabbed the champagne glass offered to me and promptly supped the glass dry, and then sunk another one.


Boris's arrival was muted, but as he wandered in and was instantly pounced upon by his arrival committee. I stood in the side lines for a while hoping he would move my way ... As the minutes passed I realised this was not going to get me my introduction. Just too many people wanted to see him and commandeer his time. I crept forward, a subtle hint. Not subtle enough for the other guests. Eventually I forced my way in, making friends with Cheshire ladies as I went. Amusingly they assumed I was his minder helping to move him around the room... oh to be that person even if an impossible job.


And I met him. He was jovial, polite and accepting whilst I thrust my phone in the air for the necessary selfie (we can call it evidence despite being a terrible photo, I have shared it). But he was also also instantly dismissive and ready to move to the next adoring fan.


I then listened to him make a decent speech about jobs coming to the North West which . I've met renowned politicians before, including those who are ambitiously looking for the next rung up the ladder. One thing I noticed about Boris is he appeared to treat everyone with the same form of interest followed by aloofness, his eyes didn't search the room for a more significant person to speak to, he treated everyone alike. Which I think is why, despite his slightly dismissive attitude towards me, I am a massive fan, although I think I really want to be his friend.


The challenge also helped me learn something about myself. Give myself a target, publish it in a public forum and I will step out of my comfort zone. It would have been easier for me just to sit and listen and took some courage on my side to speak to Boris without an introduction, but ultimately showed me I can do more than I think!


And finally ... A confession!


To be honest, our paths had crossed before, literally. I was walking down Cheapside a few years ago with a friend, and I'd stepped into the cycle lane as the pavement was busy. I saw a bike hurtling towards me in a wobbly fashion and hastily jumped out of the way. Only as I watched him cycle past did I realise who it was and kicked myself for having speedy reactions so we hadn't collided!


bottom of page